The European emergency number - 112

Published on 07/03/2024

The 112…

  • is valid throughout Europe
  • is dialled without a prefix
  • is free
  • is treated as a priority on the telephone network
  • redirects, depending on the state or region, to an emergency call centre
  • often provides operators who speak several languages
  • works via any operator, even without subscribing to it
  • can be dialled from most mobile phones without unlocking the keypad

You can call 112:

from the 28 Member States of the European Union
As well as in the following countries:

    • Andorra
    • Faroe Islands
    • Iceland
    • Liechtenstein
    • Monaco
    • Norway
    • San Marino
    • Switzerland
    • Turkey
    • Vatican


    Across Europe, 500 million people have the option of contacting the emergency services via 112.

    The 112 is a symbol of help throughout Europe.