Cookies auf der ACL Webseite
This site uses cookies to simplify and improve your usage and experience of this website. Cookies are small text files stored on the device you are using to access this website. If you ignore this message and continue without changing your browser settings, we will assume that you are consenting to our use of cookies. For further information on our use of cookies, please see our terms of use and our Privacy Statement.

Accompanied driving - Driving licence

Accompanied driving (AD) was introduced in Luxembourg with a view to enabling learners to perfect their driver training outside of a school of motoring. It also enables the learner to drive for months on end and therefore gain as much experience as possible without any additional fees.
 

 


How accompanied driving works

AD works alongside traditional driving lessons provided by a school of motoring and can benefit all learners over the age of 17, including, therefore, elderly drivers. Such drivers must, however, meet the following three conditions:

  • not driving outside of Luxembourg 
  • not driving between the hours of 11pm and 6am 
  • only driving category B vehicles.





Having passed the theory exam the learner will then receive practical training from a school of motoring, amounting to at least 12 one-hour lessons, before continuing their training by driving under the watchful eye of their accompanying driver. The latter must have obtained a permit from the Ministry of Transport beforehand, allowing them to accompany a learner driver. The company insuring the vehicle must also have provided a certificate (amendment) certifying that, in the event of an accident, any damage caused to a third party is covered by the third party motor insurance policy in question. There is no charge for this amendment.

The vehicle used for the AD must be of the sort covered by a category B driving licence. A special 20 x 13cm sign depicting a white letter L on a red background must be affixed to the rear of the vehicle to indicate to other road-users that the car is being driven by a learner driver in the framework of the AD scheme. The vehicle must also be fitted with two inside rear-view mirrors.

 


Who can be an accompanied driver?

The accompanying driver can be either a member of the learner driver’s family (father, mother, uncle, cousin, etc.) or a close friend. They must have held their own category B licence for more than 6 years and must be able to show that they have not been found guilty of breaching any aspects of the highway code or had their licence taken away at any point in the past 5 years. Furthermore, the accompanying driver must have sat in on at least 2 of the learner driver in question’s practical lessons with the instructor from the school of motoring.



  

The accompanying driver's role

This is an extremely important instructive role. The accompanying driver will have practical driving experience and immediately recognise certain dangerous situations that the learner is not yet able to detect. Since the learner driver will not yet have fully developed their awareness of real danger, the accompanying driver’s expertise is primarily required to compensate for this shortcoming.

The accompanying driver is considered to be the sole driver of the car, meaning that they will be held solely responsible should the need arise. Since the accompanying driver will not have dual controls (steering wheel, brake, etc.) or, therefore, be able to intervene directly in the driving of the vehicle, they must be able to rely entirely on the relationship of trust that they have established with the learner driver.
 

 
Additional classes

A category B driving licence is valid only for 2 years, meaning that the holder is considered to be in training for this period, during which they will be required to undergo an additional one-day practical training course at the Centre de Formation pour Conducteurs driver training centre in Colmar-Berg.

Drivers can access this course at least 3 months after they have obtained their licence. The training provided is designed to make novice drivers aware of how hard it can be to keep a vehicle safely on the road, especially in unfavourable conditions. The novice driver is consequently required to demonstrate due care and adopt a defensive style of driving. Exercises therefore focus on driving on icy roads, emergency braking, aquaplaning, etc.

The certificate of participation awarded at the end of the course entitles the holder to a new licence

Cookies sur le site web d'ACL
Ce site utilise des cookies pour simplifier et améliorer votre utilisation et expérience de ce site Web. Les cookies sont des petits fichiers texte enregistrés sur l'appareil que vous utilisez pour accéder à ce site Web. Si vous ignorez ou fermez ce message et continuez de naviguer sans désactiver les cookies dans les paramètres de votre navigateur, nous assumons que vous consentez à notre utilisation des cookies sur ce site Web. Pour plus d'informations sur notre utilisation des cookies, veuillez consultez nos conseils d'utilisations et notre déclaration de confidentialité.

La conduite accompagnée - Permis de conduire


La conduite accompagnée (CA) a été introduite au Luxembourg afin de permettre aux candidats de parfaire leur apprentissage de la conduite en dehors de l’auto-école. Elle permet au candidat de conduire pendant de longs mois et d’acquérir ainsi un maximum d’expérience, sans frais particuliers.

 


Fonctionnement de la conduite accompagnée

La CA fonctionne parallèlement à l'apprentissage traditionnel à l'auto-école. Elle est ouverte à tout candidat âgé d’au moins 17 ans, donc également aux personnes plus âgées. Trois conditions de circulation sont à respecter: 
  • ne pas conduire en dehors du Luxembourg 
  • ne pas conduire entre 23.00 et 06.00 heures 
  • ne conduire que des voitures de la catégorie B.

Après avoir réussi l'examen théorique, le candidat suivra un apprentissage pratique à l'auto-école, pendant au moins 12 leçons d'une heure. Puis, il pourra poursuivre sa formation en conduisant sous la surveillance de son accompagnateur. Celui-ci doit avoir reçu au préalable du ministère des transports une carte de légitimation par laquelle il est autorisé à exercer sa mission d’accompagnateur. D’autre part, la compagnie qui assure le véhicule doit avoir délivré une attestation (un avenant) qui certifie qu’en cas d’accident les dommages causés à autrui sont couverts par l’assurance de la responsabilité civile automobile. Cet avenant est gratuit.

Le véhicule servant à la CA doit correspondre à la catégorie B du permis de conduire. Pour signaler aux autres usagers de la route qu'une voiture est conduite par un candidat conduisant sous le régime de la CA, un signe spécial aux dimensions de 20 x 13 cm et représentant la lettre L blanche sur fond rouge, doit être apposé à l'arrière du véhicule. Le véhicule devrait aussi être équipé de deux rétroviseurs intérieurs.

 


Qui peut être accompagnateur ? 

L'accompagnateur est soit un membre de la famille du candidat-conducteur (père, mère, oncle, cousine, etc.) soit un proche. Il doit détenir son propre permis B depuis plus de 6 ans et doit justifier ne pas avoir été condamné pour des infractions au code de la route ni avoir perdu son droit de conduire au cours des 5 dernières années. En plus, il doit avoir assisté à au moins 2 leçons pratiques du candidat, enseignées par l'instructeur de l'auto-école.


  

Le rôle de l'accompagnateur

C'est un rôle pédagogique de première importance. Disposant d'une expérience pratique de la conduite, l'accompagnateur reconnaît d’emblée certaines situations dangereuses que l'élève est encore incapable de déceler. La conscience du danger réel étant peu développée chez le candidat-conducteur, c'est cette lacune que le savoir-faire de l'accompagnateur est censé combler avant tout.

L'accompagnateur est considéré comme seul conducteur de la voiture. C’est donc uniquement sa responsabilité qui est engagée, le cas échéant ! Ne disposant pas d'un double jeu de commandes (volant, frein, etc.) et ne pouvant de ce fait guère intervenir directement dans la conduite, l’accompagnateur doit pouvoir s'en remettre entièrement à la relation de confiance qui existe entre lui et son élève.

 

 
Cours complémentaire

Le permis de conduire de la catégorie B n'est valable que pour 2 ans. Son titulaire est ainsi en situation de stage pendant cette période endéans de laquelle il devra suivre une formation pratique complémentaire d'une journée au Centre de formation pour conducteurs à Colmar-Berg.

L'accès à ce cours est ouvert au plus tôt 3 mois après l'obtention du permis. La formation veut faire découvrir au conducteur novice que les limites de tenir un véhicule sur la route sont parfois tôt atteintes, notamment dans des situations défavorables. De cette façon le conducteur novice est amené à faire preuve de prudence et à adopter un style de conduite défensif. Les exercices portent par conséquent sur la conduite sur chaussée glissante, le freinage d'urgence, l'aquaplaning, etc. Le certificat de participation qui clôture ce cours donne droit à un nouveau permis.

Enfin, précisons que toute infraction au code de la route entraîne l’annulation du régime de la conduite accompagnée.