Cookies auf der ACL Webseite
This site uses cookies to simplify and improve your usage and experience of this website. Cookies are small text files stored on the device you are using to access this website. If you ignore this message and continue without changing your browser settings, we will assume that you are consenting to our use of cookies. For further information on our use of cookies, please see our terms of use and our Privacy Statement.

Mobility today, mobility tomorrow

Promoting a global smart mobility policy

 

Mobility is a strategic factor in both the economic and social development of the country. Indeed, the decisions taken today will have a long-term impact on those living in Luxembourg. The ACL aims to guarantee and promote access to mobility, the quality thereof, the free choice of means of transport and the safety of its members out on the roads.
 
A matter of cost
The lack of mobility that users experience on a daily basis represents a significant cost both to the individual and to the economy, therefore it is vital that we invest in improving mobility in Luxembourg.
It is important to bear in mind, however, that since mobility is both a social and an economic need, it must be accessible to all.
It is absolutely acceptable for special taxes to be imposed on the purchasing of a car or the fuel needed to run it, but burdening the motorist with such charges seems to have become the norm. The ACL believes that it is no longer acceptable for the motorist to constantly be expected to fund any new policies, particularly since motorists today are already paying out much more than is invested in the infrastructure they use. That said, it is important that greater consideration be given to the issue of taxation and that the matter be considered in terms of a ‘mobility budget’ aimed at encouraging multimodal transport and shared mobility. Carpooling and car-sharing initiatives are being hindered by a system that considers company cars to represent a special perk of the job.
 
It must be made easier for users to pay for various services in the form of a single payment instrument in order to facilitate multimodal travel.
Imposing repressive measures such as taxes and traffic prohibitions would hit households on modest incomes hard and is therefore not a feasible solution. The introduction of toll systems and environmental areas has increased within Europe over recent years, though unfortunately without much consistency. This increase in the number of different systems put in place has limited the free circulation of people within Europe to an unacceptable degree. Luxembourg must not only take care not to follow these bad examples but also commit to ensuring greater standardisation.
 
A matter of infrastructure
Even if we meet the MODU sustainable mobility objective for 2020 (56% for private cars, 25% for soft mobility and 19% for public transport), private motorised vehicles will still represent the majority. Cars will become safer, smarter and therefore more efficient, less energy-intensive and therefore more sustainable, as well as being used in different ways, with the growing popularity of carpooling and other forms of sharing. It will, however, remain an unrivalled means of transport for the foreseeable future and must be included in future ‘mobility’ strategies. With this in mind, it is important that the necessary infrastructure would be put in place. Projects involving major roads, and notably the addition of a third lane to the Arlon-Luxembourg-Thionville motorway, must be prioritised, together with bypasses that are already in the pipeline or under discussion, such as those at Bascharage, Dippach and Ettelbruck.
The construction of P&R schemes and the related services will help to control the growth in traffic levels, and of course, the best way to avoid traffic is to ensure that these sorts of hubs have good public transport links and/or are available to those living close to the border outside of Luxembourg.
Projects that will have an impact on the flow of traffic must be more efficiently coordinated and better signposted and motorways more efficiently cleared following an accident. The technological revolution we are currently experiencing must be harnessed in order to better manage the flow of traffic, with the possibility of using sensors to measure actual flows across the country’s road networks. Within urban areas meanwhile, traffic lights can be used more efficiently depending on the actual flow of traffic, taking all users, including pedestrians, into account.
The interconnection of the various components of the mobility framework requires a smart infrastructure that is itself connected, and it is important that we invest in this immediately. Investment is also required in human terms, and it is advisable that companies appoint a Mobility Manager in order to encourage smart employee mobility. The Mobility Manager could assist the management team in implementing projects designed to improve mobility both within the company and in terms of employee commuting and advise employees on the most appropriate mobility options for them.
 
A matter of safety
Road safety figures have fluctuated over recent years, reminding us that we have not yet found a miracle solution to putting an end to road traffic accidents and that this is a battle we must continue to fight. That said, in order to choose the appropriate measures and above all to effectively measure the effects that they have, a comprehensive analysis of the accidents that do happen is vital. The ACL is campaigning for greater understanding of the accidents that take place on our roads through the creation of a more comprehensive database providing details of serious accidents that will then make it possible to perform detailed analyses of the causes and consequences of these accidents. The ACL also believes that greater importance should be placed on issues relating to road safety when it comes to educating young people and training young drivers, as well as improving the road infrastructure & signage and eliminating accident black spots. That said, the ACL is against the blanket lowering of the maximum permitted speed limit outside of urban areas from 90 to 80km/h, as well as any other repressive measures and the pursuit of an essentially repressive strategy.
With regards to consumer protection, the ACL is in favour of introducing the possibility of taking class action into Luxembourgish legislation.
 
Further information on the ACL’s grievances and proposals can be found in the brochure entitled « Pour une politique de mobilité globale et intelligente ». (‘Promoting a Global Smart Mobility Policy’).
 

Extrait de l'Autotouring 3, juin 2018 : Questions aux partis politiques en matière de mobilité

Cookies sur le site web d'ACL
Ce site utilise des cookies pour simplifier et améliorer votre utilisation et expérience de ce site Web. Les cookies sont des petits fichiers texte enregistrés sur l'appareil que vous utilisez pour accéder à ce site Web. Si vous ignorez ou fermez ce message et continuez de naviguer sans désactiver les cookies dans les paramètres de votre navigateur, nous assumons que vous consentez à notre utilisation des cookies sur ce site Web. Pour plus d'informations sur notre utilisation des cookies, veuillez consultez nos conseils d'utilisations et notre déclaration de confidentialité.

La mobilité, aujourd'hui et demain

 

Pour une politique de mobilité globale et intelligente

La mobilité est un enjeu stratégique du développement tant économique que social du pays. Les décisions prises aujourd’hui auront des conséquences sur la vie des habitants du Luxembourg à long terme. Pour l’ACL, l’objectif est de garantir et de promouvoir l’accès à la mobilité, sa qualité, le libre choix du moyen de transport et la sécurité des usagers mobiles.
 
Une question de coûts
L’immobilité que vivent les usagers au quotidien représente un coût important, tant pour les individus que pour l’économie. Il est donc essentiel d’investir dans l’amélioration de la mobilité au Luxembourg.
Mais attention : la mobilité étant une nécessité sociale et économique, elle doit rester accessible pour tous.
Il est acceptable que des impôts spécifiques grèvent l’achat d’une voiture ou les carburants qui la propulsent. Mais la politique a pris l’habitude de se décharger toujours sur l’automobiliste. Pour l’ACL, il n’est plus acceptable que l’automobiliste soit toujours mis à contribution pour financer toute politique nouvelle. Surtout qu’aujourd’hui déjà, les automobilistes paient bien plus que ce qui est investi dans l’infrastructure qu’ils utilisent. Mais des réflexions doivent être menées en matière de fiscalisation : il faut penser en termes de « budget mobilité » pour inciter à la multi-modalité et à la mobilité partagée. Covoiturage (carpooling) et autopartage (carsharing) sont freinés par un système où la voiture de fonction représente un élément de rémunération privilégié. Pour faciliter les déplacements multimodaux, le paiement des différents services doit se faire de manière simplifiée pour les usagers, sous forme d’un instrument de paiement unique.
Une répression sous forme de taxes ou d’interdictions de circuler toucherait durement les ménages aux revenus les plus faibles, elle n’est donc pas une solution acceptable. Les systèmes de péages et les zones environnementales se sont multipliés ces dernières années en Europe, malheureusement sans cohérence. Cette démultiplication de systèmes représente une limitation inacceptable à la libre circulation des personnes en Europe. Le Luxembourg doit non seulement éviter de répéter ces mauvais exemples, mais aussi s’engager pour davantage d’harmonisation.
 
Une question d’infrastructure
Même en respectant l’objectif du MODU pour 2020 (56 % pour la voiture particulière, 25 % pour la mobilité douce et 19 % pour les transports en commun), les transports motorisés individuels resteront dominants. La voiture deviendra plus sûre, plus intelligente donc plus efficace, moins énergivore donc plus durable et son utilisation changera avec le covoiturage et d’autres formes de partage. Mais elle restera un moyen de transport inégalable pour tout avenir prévisible et elle doit être intégrée dans les stratégies « mobilité » à venir. Il faut donc que l’infrastructure nécessaire soit concrétisée. Les projets sur les grands axes routiers, notamment la mise à trois voies de l’axe autoroutier Arlon-Luxembourg-Thionville, sont une priorité de même que la réalisation des contournements prévus ou en discussion comme Bascharage, Dippach ou Ettelbruck.
La construction de P&R et des services y afférents contribueront à une maîtrise de la croissance du trafic. L’évitement du trafic est optimal si ces pôles d’échange sont connectés aux transports publics, ou si l’offre s’adresse aux frontaliers au-delà des frontières nationales.
La coordination des chantiers qui ont des répercussions sur la circulation doit devenir plus efficace et leur signalisation peut être améliorée ; le dégagement des autoroutes après accident doit être optimisé. La révolution technologique en cours doit être mise à contribution pour mieux organiser les flux du trafic. Des capteurs peuvent mesurer les flux réels sur les réseaux routiers. Dans les agglomérations, les feux de signalisation peuvent être optimisés en fonction du trafic réel, pour tous les utilisateurs y compris les piétons.
L’interconnexion des objets qui forment l’encadrement de la mobilité exige une infrastructure intelligente, elle aussi connectée. Dès à présent, des investissements doivent être effectués en ce sens. Des investissements sont nécessaires aussi sur le plan humain. Afin d’encourager dans les entreprises une mobilité plus intelligente des salariés, la désignation d’un mobility manager est souhaitable. Ce dernier pourrait assister sa hiérarchie dans la mise en œuvre de projets améliorant la mobilité de et vers l’entreprise, et conseiller les salariés sur les options de mobilité les plus adéquates.
 
Une question de sécurité
Ces dernières années, les chiffres de la sécurité routière ont connu des hauts et des bas, rappelant que nous n’avons pas encore mis en œuvre la solution miracle qui mettra fin aux accidents de la circulation et qu’il faut poursuivre le combat. Mais pour choisir les mesures adaptées et surtout pour en mesurer de manière efficace les effets, une analyse complète des accidents est incontournable. L’ACL plaide pour une meilleure compréhension des accidents par la création d’une base de données plus complète sur le détail des accidents graves qui permettra des analyses approfondies sur les causes et conséquences des accidents. L’ACL est également favorable à un renforcement des questions de sécurité routière dans l’éducation des jeunes et lors de la formation des jeunes conducteurs et à l’amélioration de l’infrastructure routière et de la signalisation, ainsi qu’à l’élimination des points noirs. Par contre, l’ACL est opposé à un abaissement général de la vitesse maximale autorisée hors agglomérations de 90 à 80 km/h ainsi qu’au tout répressif et à la poursuite d’une stratégie essentiellement répressive.
En ce qui concerne la protection du consommateur, l’ACL est favorable à l’introduction du recours collectif dans la législation luxembourgeoise.
 
Retrouvez plus d’informations sur les doléances et propositions de l’ACL dans la brochure « Pour une politique de mobilité globale et intelligente ».

 
Extrait de l'Autotouring 3, juin 2018 : Questions aux partis politiques en matière de mobilité